# **Awards Committee Report to the 2024 AGM**

## **Awards Committee**

Vanessa Cave (Convenor)
Beatrix Jones (*ex officio* NZSA President)
Jennifer Brown
Matt Edwards
Harold Henderson
Jie Kang
Claudia Rivera

## 2024 NZSA Awards

The call for nominations for the 2024 NZSA Awards closed on Monday, 11th November. A number of nominations were received for each of the Littlejohn, Jean Thompson, and Campbell Awards. However, no nominations were submitted for the Worsley Award. Winners will be announced at the conference dinner.

#### **Student Travel Awards**

Travel grants totalling \$8,000 were awarded to 20 students to support their attendance at the 2024 NZSA conference. The recipients included 12 students from Auckland, 5 from Otago, and 1 each from AUT, Canterbury, and Massey.

# **Early Career Discretionary Travel Fund**

This year, for the first time, funding was made available to support early-career researchers attending NZSA-affiliated events. A total of \$2,000 was awarded to two early-career members to attend the 2024 NZSA conference: Anjali Gupta and Yongshi Deng. Both Anjali and Yongshi have kindly agreed to provide profiles for the newsletter and website.

## **NZSA Tidy International Travel Scholarship**

I am pleased to announce the establishment of the NZSA Tidy International Travel Scholarship, generously sponsored by Hadley Wickham for an initial period of five years. This scholarship, valued at \$2,500 p.a., aims to support students and early-career statisticians (SECSs) in attending international conferences that are relevant to their research and professional development.

The first round of applications is scheduled for April 2025, with promotional efforts set to begin in the New Year. Awards Committee members (Vanessa and Jie) are collaborating with Muskaan (NZSA Student and Early Career Statisticians Representative) to design the application and assessment processes.

I would like acknowledge Jie Kang for conceptualising this initiative and for liaising with Hadley.

## **Visiting Lecturer**

The Awards Committee has supported the nomination of Dr. Matthew Beckman (Penn State University) as the 2025 NZSA Visiting Lecturer, submitted by Anna Fergusson (University of Auckland). Funds of up to \$2,000 have been approved to cover Dr. Beckman's travel

expenses. The University of Auckland will host Dr. Beckman from mid-January to mid-May 2025, with plans for him to visit the Universities of Otago, Canterbury, Victoria, and Massey in April 2025.

It is worth noting that Dr. Beckman will be the first Visiting Lecturer since Professor Ingram Olkin in 2010.

The Awards Committee will also be reviewing the process for promoting and awarding Visiting Lectureships in the future, including the potential shift to a contestable funding model with regular calls for applications.

## **Student Presentation Prizes**

We have a fantastic lineup of students presenting their research at this year's conference, with a total of 29 presentations. Harmonic Analytics has once again generously sponsored prizes for the best student presentations. Many thanks to the anonymous judges for their valuable time and effort in assessing the student talks.

## **Thanks**

The Convenor would like to thank:

- The Awards Committee members for their valuable contributions.
- Jie Kang for the pivotal role he played in establishing the NZSA Tidy International Travel Scholarship.
- Everyone who submitted nominations for the 2024 awards.
- The judges of the student presentations for their time and expertise.

Vanessa Cave 16 November 2024