### NZSA Membership Report - AGM 2024

John Haywood & Harold Henderson, 11 November 2024

### Membership

Membership at 31 March 2024 was 540, with changes since 31 March 2023 in parentheses, 50 joined and 33 resigned, an increase of 17:

	NZ		over	overseas		
Ordinary	321	(1)	19	(-2)		
Student	126	(15)	3	(1)		
Retired	36	(2)	5	(1)		
Honorary	18	( <del>-</del> 1)		` '		
SSA member	4		4	(-1)		
Corporate	4	(1)				
	509	(18)	31	(-1)	540	(17)

### "Online only"

In November 2024, 472 (87%) of the 542 NZSA-only members have elected "online only" for the journal. (SSAI had 90% of their 1000 members in May 2023 "online only".)

#### Subs

The 2023 AGM set base rate for subs 1 April 2024 - 31 March 2025 at \$NZ80:

		\$NZ			
Ordinary	(base rate)	80			
Retired	(half base rate)	40			
No paper jou	-5				
SSAI Member	50				
Student (Senior students at NZ universities or					
graduates of NZ universities studying overseas,					
and not in full-time employment)					

**Corporate members**: At 31 March 2024: Harmonic Analytics, SAS Australia and New Zealand, Stats NZ, Beef + Lamb New Zealand Genetics (from April 2023).

## **Deaths of Honorary members**

Murray Jorgensen, died on 7 February 2024. Mike Doherty, died on 30 May 2024. David Vere-Jones, died on 31 October 2024

# Honorary Life Members <a href="https://www.stats.org.nz/life-membership-nzsa/">https://www.stats.org.nz/life-membership-nzsa/</a>

Honorary Life Members are ordinary members of the Association who have been nominated by the Executive Committee and elected by a majority vote at a General Meeting of the Association on the basis of a long and distinguished record of service to the Association. They have all the rights of an ordinary member.

Honorary Life Member	elected	
Stan Roberts*	1981	Died 9 Feb 2000
J.T. Campbell*	1983	Died 1 July 1994
Geoff Jowett*	1984	Died 18 Dec 2015
David Vere-Jones*	2003	Died 31 Oct 2024
George Seber	2003	
Alastair Scott*	2003	Died 25 May 2017
John Darwin*	2005	Died 29 Oct 2008
Steve Kuzmicich*	2005	Died June 2018
Jean Thompson	2006	
Jeffrey Hunter	2006	
Sharleen Forbes	2008	
Robert Davies	2009	
Mike Camden	2010	
Len Cook	2010	
Mike Doherty*	2010	Died 30 May 2024
Harold Henderson	2013	
Peter Johnstone	2013	
Murray Jorgensen*	2013	Died 7 February 2024
Judi McWhirter	2013	
Jennifer Brown	2014	
Neil Cox	2014	
Stephen Haslett	2014	
David Scott	2014	
Chris Wild	2015	
Richard Penny	2017	
*Deceased		