

2023 Annual General Meeting of the New Zealand Statistical Association

3:30pm Tuesday 5 December 2023

Venue: Room A1, North Arts Lecture Theatres building, University of Canterbury and online via Zoom

Apologies: Ting Wang, Len Cook, Steve Haslett, Stephanie Budgett, Vince Galvin, Jean Thompson, Betsy Williams, Tracey Savage, Jennifer brown, Maxine Pfankuch *Accepted*

In attendance: See <u>list of attendees</u> on the last page.

1) Minutes of the 2022 AGM:

Move to be accepted. Carried

2) Matters Arising

None.

- 3) Reports (available at: https://www.stats.org.nz/archive/)
 - a. President's Annual Report (Beatrix Jones)
 Report received

Highlights: Would like to see the mentoring programme become a permanent feature of the association, so would welcome volunteers to help run the programme in future. Thanks to Harold Henderson who is stepping down as membership secretary.

b. Financial Report (Daniel Gerhard)
Report received

Funds mainly spent on the 2022 conference, Ihaka Lecture Series and support of NZMASP conference. NZSA funds available: \$279 098; Campbell Fund has a balance of \$70 000 - \$80 000.

c. Membership (Harold Henderson)
Report received

Beef & Lamb have now joined as a corporate member, bringing the number of corporate members up to 4.



- d. ANZJS (Martin Hazelton)
 - Editorial report received (Martin Hazelton) Impact factor has increased. Would like to encourage more New Zealanders to publish papers in the journal.
 - ii. Non-editorial report received (Matt Parry) as read.
- e. Awards Committee (Vanessa Cave)

Report received

The Awards Committee is seeking an annual budget item of \$3000 to support the participation of early-career researchers (ECRs) in NZSA events.

Motion:

James Curran: Association to have a budget item of \$5000 for ECR Discretionary Travel Fund to support participation of early-career researcher (ECRs) in NZSA events. Increase budget item for Student Travel Awards for NZSA conference to \$5000.

Carried

- f. Education and Science Fairs
 - i. Education report received (Mike Camden)
 - ii. Science Fairs report received (Alasdair Noble)

iii.

g. Student and Early Career Statisticians (Jie Kang & Rory Ellis)

Report received

Jie Kang stepping down from SECS role

h. Mentoring report (Lisa Thomasen)

Report received

Highlights: Second year of mentoring program with 22 mentees and 14 mentors andhas been quite successful with positive outcomes and feedback for those involved. Thanks to those who participated and looking for participants for the next round.

Beatrix Jones: Mentoring should become a long-term activity of the association, so looking for volunteer to be involved in mentoring.

Website (Heather Jenkins)
 Report received - take as read

j. Newsletter (Ben Stevenson)

Report received

New issue due in February – contributions of content welcome. Ben will be stepping down as Newsletter editor after the next issue. New editor needed. .



k. R User Groups (Shirley Wu)

Report received

Highlights: One event held during the year. Sponsorship.....

I. Wellington Statistics Group (John Haywood)

Report received - take as read

m. Corporate Members (Richard Penny)

Report received - take as read

Jie Kang has agreed to take over as corporate representative.

Motion:

Beatrix Jones: Propose to accept all reports.

Carried

4) Setting of Annual Subscription

Proposal (Beatrix Jones) to keep subscriptions unchanged at \$80 for ordinary members, free for student members, \$40 for retired members. Seconded: Nokuthaba Sibanda Carried

5) Election of Officers

a. Executive committee nominations:

President: Beatrix Jones

Secretary: Nokuthaba Sibanda Treasurer: Daniel Gerhard

Carried

Corporate representative: Jie Kang nominated by Richard Penny. Seconded. Gary

Dunnett Carried

Membership Secretary: John Haywood nominated by Beatrix Jones. Seconded by

Harold Henderson. Carried

Endorsement of remaining committee members (see
 https://www.stats.org.nz/executive-committee/ for the current list).

Carried

6) Date of 2024 AGM Beatrix Jones proposed second half of November. Conference will now go back to rotating around different centres. Date and venue of 2023 conference to be decided by the Executive Committee.

7) Other Business

a. Oversight of Al use

Motion:



Thomas Lumley: It is the sense of the meeting that the executive should develop a plan to expand corporate memberships and consider how they fit into the Association's strategy and mission going forward.

Seconded: Matt Parry

Closed at 1.30pm

List of attendees

First name	Surname	Institution
Richard	Arnold	Victoria University of Wellington
Azam	Asanjarani	University of Auckland
June	Atkinson	University of Otago

Richard	Barker	University of Otago
Arijit	Bhattacharjee	University of Canterbury
Stephanie	Budgett	University of Auckland
Mike	Camden	Stats NZ
Claire	Cameron	University of Otago
Vanessa	Cave	Cave Statistics Consulting
David	Chan	University of Auckland
Ellen	Cieraad	Department of Conservation
Len	Cook	VUW (IGPS)
James		University of Auckland
	Curran	
Tilman	Davies	University of Otago
Ken	Dodds	AgResearch
Bradley	Drayton	Waipapa Taumata Rau
Fabian	Dunker	University of Canterbury
Gary	Dunnet	Stats NZ
Marie	Fitch	University of Auckland
Sharleen	Forbes	Stated Consultancy
Vinie	Galvin	Stats NZ
Han	Gan	University of Waikato
Daniel	Gerhard	University of Canterbury
Jesse	Goodman	University of Auckland
John	Harraway	University of Otago
John	Haywood	Victoria University of Wellington
Martin	Hazelton	University of Otago
Harold	Henderson	AgResearch
Heather	Jenkins	Plant & Food Research
Linley	Jesson	Plant & Food Research
Beatrix	Jones	University of Auckland
Chaitanya	Joshi	University of Auckland
Tim	Jowett	University of Otago
Jie	Kang	Beef & Lamb NZ
Eileen	Li	University of Auckland
Jason	Li	University of Auckland
Thomas	Lumley	University of Auckland
Tim	Marchant	AMSI
Jonathan	Marshall	Massey University
Andrew	Martin	Stats NZ
Esther	Meenken	AgResearch
Renate	Meyer	University of Auckland
First name	Surname	Institution
Victor	Miranda	AUT
Elena	Moltchanova	University of Canterbury
Peter	Mullins	University of Auckland
Alasdair	Noble	AgResearch
Matt	Parry	University of Otago
Anne	Patel	University of Auckland



Richard	Penny	Stats NZ
Amy	Renelle	University of Auckland
Matthew	Schofield	University of Otago
Sepi	Sharif	University of Otago
Nokuthaba	Sibanda	Victoria University of Wellington
Ben	Stevenson	University of Auckland
Lisa	Thomasen	Fonterra
Lars	Thomsen	University of Auckland
Chris	Triggs	University of Auckland
Simon	Urbanek	University of Auckland
lan	Westbrooke	Department of Conservation
Mark	Wohlers	Plant & Food Research
Shirley	Wu	Harmonic Analytics
Xun	Xiao	University of Otago
Ilze	Ziedins	University of Auckland